Skip to content

Productivity Playland

February 8, 2009

There is a lot going on these days.

1) I’m graduating in May! Although I am very excited to be done with classes and have my nights and weekends free again, I must say I am going to miss being in an environment of learning. Not only have I made great friends that I am sure I will be in touch with for years to come, I have learned more about myself, my interests, and my passions than I ever thought would have been possible in a master’s program in Science and Technology Policy. These next couple of months will be challenging and exciting in many ways.

2) We are going to Kenya! To make a long story short, last year I thought it would be a good idea if our graduate program copied the development studies program’s capstone. Rather than writing a group research paper, I thought our team should try to find a client and work on a project in a developing country. After a few meetings, we started looking for a client in November. As on Friday, February 6, 2009, I am happy to say my team and I not only found a great client, but wrote a fantastic Scope of Work and are being funded to go to Kenya for about two weeks to look at the user acceptance of the Episurveyor, which is an open source surevy developed by DataDyne, for collecting public health data. We’ll be applying the Technology Acceptance Model, developed by Davis, to the Kenya Ministry of Health’s use of the EpiSurveyor. There is lot’s to do between now and mid March to prepare!

3) I need to finish my independent study, using the survey data I collected in Azerbaijan during the summer of 2008 with FINCA International, a microfinance organization. I need to finish it in one week! I’m stressing, since in addition to that, I have work to do for work, and classes to attend, etc. As I often say, however, ‘it will all get done’ (somehow).

And that brings me to Productivity Playland. I’ve been sitting inside all day, despite the fact that it was a gorgeous 60-degree day in February in Washington, DC. I’ll admit, it makes it easier to be inside all day when your S.O. is stuck inside doing school work, too. I decided to call this place ‘Productivity Playland’ and told myself I bought an all-day pass in order to stay motivated and excited about my work. I am actually really excited about all of it, but sometimes I wish it was done!

(I will admit, we did sneak outside for a half an hour to play a game of basketball with some of the neighborhood kids)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

