Skip to content

…to the center of a tootsie pop.

June 9, 2009

Picture that early 90’s cartoon with the wise owl and the young child. “How many licks does it take to

Tootsie Roll Pops
Image via Wikipedia

get to the center of a tootsie pop?” The question, posed by TootsieRoll, never had an answer. The point? “Just lick”.

Yesterday, I met up with an friend from college I hadn’t seen in a while. We were catching up on relevant life matters, where we had been since graduating, relationships, jobs and lack of

jobs, etc. The question, ‘so how is work’ was inevitably asked, and I happily went on to state how much I like my job and how the work I am doing is very exciting. At the end of the day, it is pretty remarkable that I can honestly say I am involved in transforming rural healthcare in developing countries. I mean, who wouldn’t want to say that?

We then got to the subject of buying houses. It was at that point that I said the reason I am postponing buying a house (not like I could now if I wanted to, anyway) was to save money to start by own business. Of course, we ended up talking about my ideas for a green coworking space in DC. The more and more I talk about it, the more I realize it is my passion. I am very passionate about my current work, but it is not mine.

At one point, I told my friend that I know a lot of the things I have to figure out, but I just don’t know where to start. His response? “Well, how many licks does it take to get to the center of a tootsie pop? You don’t know, you just lick.” That was his clever way of saying, just do it, and you’ll get there. It was a simple and yet very effective way to visualize what I need to do. That is, start small and work on small tasks rather than getting overwhelmed by the idea of the entire start-up process.

This summer, I’ll use this as my motto. “To the center of a tootsie pop!” (eventually, “and beyond!”)

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

