Skip to content

What Tri Training Has Taught Me

March 25, 2011

Last night on my way home from an event, I was thinking of the half-marathon I am running tomorrow. This will be my longest distance raced ever. I am a bit nervous, very excited, and a tad bitter that the weather won’t be warmer. My running buddy and I are aiming for 9min miles for the course of the race, which would bring us in just under 2 hours. I think it is doable.

My thoughts wandered to last year, February of 2010, when I felt like I could barely swim 100m, let alone the 1900 that will be required for the half ironman. There were days I left the pool almost in tears due to my frustration at being really crappy at it. I couldn’t breathe and would flail my arms as if I was going nowhere. Now, swimming is my second-favorite sport of the three. I am still not fast, actually pretty slow, but I like it and I feel like I know what I am doing. Tomorrow’s run is similar. After finishing a short run on Tuesday, with some speed work worked in, I could feel I had improved in my strength, speed, and form.

And as I thought about all of this, I realized that each day, each week, each year, each birthday that we dread…all represent an opportunity to do something we have never done before. I’m 28 and tomorrow will be the first day I will have ever ran 13 miles. That makes me smile. It makes me motivated. I makes be believe that what I aspire to accomplish over the next few years is totally possible, even though I have never done it before.

If you are in Antwerp on July 24, 2011…come cheer for me! http://www.marcherremansclassic.be/

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

