Skip to content

Kickin’ ass and takin’ names

August 4, 2011

Woah! What a week!

At this moment in time, my mind feels somewhat free. I’m in this state of not having many major things to do and decisions to make. It feels wonderful! Why, why the sudden many weights lifted off the shoulders? Because we are kickin’ ass and takin names! That’s why 🙂

Seriously, though, this week has been quite the week — an amazing week that has had my emotions and brain working double time (I know emotions don’t technically work, but I hope you get the point). Here is the general low down:
Tuesday morning: Bram and I met with an engineer/inspector to have a look at the apartment we were interested in buying. He was the type of guy you’d want to take you on a tour of Amsterdam, as he would randomly through historical architecture/design facts into the inspection (supposedly, when the Belgian’s were at war with the Spanish, many Flemish fled to the Netherlands, and since they needed something to do, they basically installed all of the gas lighting fixtures in houses in Amsterdam — this came up when the inspector saw these old gas spigots in corners of rooms, which I think look super cool and funky, even though they don’t work). The apartment is in great condition, but there are some issues with the foundation. As we have come to discover, there will always be questions about an old (circa 1900) building’s foundation — since the city is basically built on water. Following the review, we (really, Bram) called municipal land organizations, the homeowners association (similar to a condo association) and other to research the foundation.
Of course, I am ridiculously over simplifying the discussions, questions, research, and process that went into making the decision to BUY the house. (ask my parents if you want the details!)
Wednesday morning: Reviewing the facts, documents, contract, and coming to terms with the fact that we are buying a house in Amsterdam. It is so exciting (we both absolutely love the apartment…more on that later!) but also daunting as hell! It also feels very permanent and adult-like. Luckily, we are confident that when we do move to another country in a few years, we’ll be able to rent the place out with no problems.

Wednesday 1pm: We are at the notary. The notary, the two owners, their broker, and interpreter for me, Bram, and I — all sitting around a table. When they heard Bram had been in Amsterdam for less than a year, that I had only been living here for six weeks, plus the fact we had no broker and basically went through the entire process ourselves, I think they were all very surprised. Like I said, kickin’ ass and takin’ names!
Wednesday night we made lasagna and drank sparkling wine to celebrate. We also both worked pretty late, since, in addition to all that is going on, we both have tons to do at work, so the nights have been a bit long….but worth it.
Wednesday later night Bram and I headed to at atm (again) so we could withdraw enough cash (euro 1250.00 to be exact) for my immigration application. We reviewed once more and signed all of my immigration documents. As my ‘sponsor’, Bram had to also get documentation from his employer, contract, proof of income, etc. which we compiled last week.
This morning, 9am. I am at the immigration office, my number is called almost exactly at 9am, I hand in my paper work, have a very friendly conversation with the woman filing my paper work, I pay the fee, I get a glossy stamp added into my passport, and I am off! In less than a week I should have a SOFI number, which will allow me to open a bank account (hooray!) and other logistical things.

So – ta da! I guess I’m here to stay (for a while, at least). We now have to get the mortgage approved and will transfer ownership of the house on September 9, 2011. We plan to move in by the end of Sept.

It feels wonderful to have crossed off some pretty major goals/milestones over the past few weeks.

Tot ziens! – Chloe

One Comment leave one →
  1. Niki permalink
    August 5, 2011 10:00 AM

    Wow, Chloe! You are totally kicking ass… lining ’em up and popping BB’s into those buns like a professional marksman! Congrats on your new home ownership and getting your papers in. I’m so happy for you! Wish I could give you a hug! (And congrats on your triathlon… I was swallowed up in the black hole of “the way life sometimes go” around that time, and though I read your FB post, I don’t think I got to the point of congratulating you on your major accomplishment. Nice work, and despite the challenging conditions!)

Leave a Reply

