Skip to content

Fall updates

October 11, 2011

On my to-do list is to seek out a camera battery charger that I can use here. My adapter is on the fritz and my camera is out of batteries…so here is another photo-less post.

Last weekend I was able to spend a bunch of time with Bram’s sister, Marieke, who is awesome! We had dinner together, went out with friends, and she and I put together the dining room table in the house. It was really a lot of fun and also much needed! I also went to dinner last Thursday with a friend Laura, had a great meal and also practiced speaking Dutch for about 10 minutes, she was impressed and I very much enjoyed feeling the energy of Amsterdam during dinner.

I’ve decided my training plan for the upcoming Amsterdam half-marathon will remain the same, and that is not training. I know, I know. I should train, but my exercise routine has been completely thrown off over the past few months…and it is going to stay that way for a bit longer. Oh well!

Bram surprised me and came back from his training on Sunday night, which was great!

The work is almost complete on the house, which just means more painting on our end, and then we’ll be done with the hard-ish part and can start decorating. I did buy two plants this weekend (amazing how plants can add so much to a home). Actually, the shop I went to gave me one of the plants for free.

Next week, I am co-hosting the first ICT4Drinks event in Amsterdam. ICT = information and communication technologies and 4D = for development. I’ll be meeting many people for the first time and talking shop, which I am very much looking forward to!

In less than two weeks I’ll be stateside…ahhh! I am so excited to hug the crap out of all my friends and family. Hugs all around.

And finally, it seems like going away for a weekend is a popular thing to do in NL.Bram and I have decided to go away the weekend before I go back to the US, to take a break and relax for a weekend. The first 3 places we inquired at were all booked, and they are kind of in the middle of nowhere, so I was a bit surprised. I ended up finding a little B&B that is way cheaper than any of the original places we were looking and also seems beautiful, quaint, and near nature. The guy that runs it even used exclamation points in his email to me…amazing!

I’ll take some fun photos soon and will post more. Until then, tot ziens!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

