Skip to content

The small things

April 11, 2012

My mom is in Europe for a few weeks for work. She stopped over in Amsterdam this past weekend and I am going to visit her in London this upcoming weekend. It was great seeing her and we had a great Easter!

A few small things she brought me from the states: these measuring cups. The ‘progressive international measuring spoon set’. I love them. Why? A) there are many of them and B) they have both American and everywhere else measurements them! So that means on each cup I am told how many ‘cups’ or portions of a cup there are as well as the mililiter measurement. It’s a small thing, but super helpful. There were a few key cookbooks I shipped from the US – NL and let me tell you, when you are trying to get things in the oven or prevent something from burning, the last thing you want to do is open a web browser to convert baking measurements. Problem solved!

Mom also brought me over a box of Arm & Hammer baking soda. Random, eh? It turns out you can’t get it here in NL. I’ve even asked one of the women that may make our wedding cake. She says she either buys it super expensive from a big store (that I think you’d need a car to go to) or brings back baking soda boxes when we travels from the US. I’ve been needing it for baking and also to make some natural home cleaners, etc.

Mom also brought a suitcase full of art I used to have up in my apartment in DC. I think Bram said it best when he said (after we put everything up this week), “its amazing how visuals have such a great effect on people”. We have a wall covered with the pieces and immediately our home feels more cozy, more lived in, more us. Love it!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

