Skip to content

Creative ventures in urban sustainability

September 11, 2012

I thought I’d start using this space for a more targeted purpose. First, I’ll be posting what I learn throughout the feasibility study phase of starting a business. Ideally, at the end of this phase I’ll have a clear idea of what I need to do and be confident that the business will survive and will fill a gap or need. If, at the end of the study I realize that, in fact, it is not possible or feasible to viably start this business successfully, I hope this space will be useful for others in the area who are asking similar questions or share this common interest.

A few of the businesses I hope to get in contact with to find out more about their work are two in the US that I have been following for sometime.

The first, is EcoMovement Consulting and Hauling, which provide recycling and composting services for businesses, residences, events, etc. I really admire their view that composting and waste in general can be a service provided and marketed as such. I think this helps in building community.

The second company is Back to the Roots (BTTR) which turns used coffee grounds into mushroom growing kits. These are sold in stores like Whole Foods and are provided to schools for education. I think their combination of education + business savvy is both thoughtful and innovative.

The third organization and I excited to learn more about and get more involved in is Mediamatic. They started as an organization looking at media, technology, innovation. Now they do that and more. I am really interested in their work around food, urban agriculture, etc. I plan on checking out one of their Secret Art of Growing Mushrooms workshops, too.

From time to time I’ll be highlighting interesting organizations and ventures that are working in this area.

Cheers ~Chloe

No comments yet

Leave a comment